Foss vessels, others, recongnized for outstanding safety record

Total Views: 1
June 13, 2011

U.S. maritime industry publicly recognized the women and men responsible for safe ship operations at the Annual Safety Awards Luncheon held at the Loews New Orleans Hotel on June 2, 2011. Over 180 people, representing over 70 companies, attended the annual industry-sponsored event.

The Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) announces the results of the 2010 Jones F. Devlin Awards. Those awards were given to vessels that have operated for at least two years without a seafarer involved in a lost-time injury.

Joseph Cox, CSA President said: “We have been holding these annual award ceremonies since 1958. This was the Fifty-third Anniversary of the program. For that initial year, we honored six vessels having a total of twelve years operation with no lost-time incidents. This year, we gave awards to 1,288 vessels that operated 7,284 years without a lost-time incident. This extraordinary record is directly attributable to the professionalism of our seafarers and the dedication of shore-based company personnel to safe operation.”
Recipients of the 2010 Jones F. Devlin Awards were:

AEP River Operations – AET Inc Limited – AET Shipmanagement (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd – AET Shipmanagement (Singapore) Pte Limited – Alaska Tanker Company, LLC – American Commercial Lines – AmNav Maritime Services – Boston Towing & Transportation – Bouchard Ocean Services – Bouchard Transportation Co., Inc. – BW Fleet Management Pte Ltd. – Canal Barge Company, Inc. – Chevron Shipping Company LLC – ConocoPhillips Commercial Marine – Crescent Towing – Crowley Marine Services – Crowley Maritime Corporation – Crowley Petroleum Services – Crowley Puerto Rico Services – Crowley Technical Management – Delta Western, Inc. – E. N. Bisso and Son., Inc. – Farrell Lines – Foss Maritime Company – Fugro McClelland Marine Geosciences – Gellatly & Criscione Services – General Dynamics – American Overseas Marine – – Golding Barge Line, Inc. – Hawaiian Tug & Barge – Higman Barge Lines, Inc. – Horizon Lines, LLC – Ingram Barge Company – Interocean American Shipping – Keystone Shipping Co. – Kirby Inland Marine – K-Sea Transportation – Maersk Line, Limited – Marathon Petroleum Company LP – Marine Resources Group – Marine Transport Lines – Marine Transport Management – Moran Towing Corporation – Northern Marine Management – NYK Stolt Shipholdings Inc. – NYK Stolt Tankers S.A. – Ocean Shipholdings, Inc. – OSG Ship Management (GR) Ltd. – OSG Ship Management (UK) Ltd. – OSG Ship Management, Inc. – Pine Bluff Sand & Grave Company – Polar Tankers, Inc. – Reinauer Transportation Companies – SCF Waxler Marine LLC – Sea Star Line, LLC – Seabulk Tankers, Inc. – Seabulk Towing Inc. – SeaRiver Maritime, Inc. – Southern Towing Company – SPT Offshore – Stena Marine Management – Stolt Tankers B.V. – SUEZ LNG NA LLC – Teekay Corporation – Tidewater Marine – Totem Ocean Trailer Express – U. S. United Ocean Services – U.S. Maritime Administration – U.S. United Barge Line – USS Vessel Management LLC – Vela International Marine Limited – Weeks Marine, Inc. – Young Brothers, Ltd.

The Chamber of Shipping of America represents 33 U.S. based companies that own, operate or charter oceangoing tankers, container ships, and other merchant vessels engaged in both the domestic and international trades and other entities that maintain a commercial interest in the operation of such oceangoing vessels.

Source: Chamber of Shipping America

Photo: Foss’ Arthur Foss assisting a tanker in the Bay Area courtesy Foss Maritime

Back to Main