Join our crew and become one of the 106,896 members that receive our newsletter.

DOT Secretary Buttigieg Appoints New Members to Short Sea Shipping Advisory Committee

Pete Buttigieg, U.S. secretary of transportation nominee for U.S. President Joe Biden, speaks during a Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee confirmation hearing in Washington, DC, U.S., January 21, 2021. Stefani Reynolds/Pool via REUTERS

DOT Secretary Buttigieg Appoints New Members to Short Sea Shipping Advisory Committee

Mike Schuler
Total Views: 1353
June 10, 2022

U.S. Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg has announced the appointment of 25 new members to the Maritime Transportation System National Advisory Committee (MTSNAC).

The MTSNAC Charter will advise the Secretary, through the Maritime Administration (MARAD) Administrator, on ways to identify and address impediments hindering the effective use of short sea transportation.  

The MTSNAC comprises leaders from commercial transportation firms, trade associations, state and local public entities, labor organizations, academic, and environmental groups that advise the Secretary on policies to ensure that the U.S. marine transportation system can respond to continual increases in trade.  
The MTSNAC’s counsel comes at a critical time as the Biden Administration looks to tackle rising inflation and reduce costs for American consumers. The new members will also serve on the MTSNAC during the implementation of the historic Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, when addressing supply chains and moving goods to market has never been more important. 
“Our maritime industry plays a central role in our supply chains and our economic strength as a nation,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg. “These new members will help us deliver the maritime investments in the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, fighting inflation and reducing delays for the American people.” 
The MTSNAC will ultimately comprise 22 members from public and private entities and 5 senior federal employees from various agencies whose purpose is to guide the Secretary of Transportation on matters relating to U.S. maritime transportation, its integration with other segments of the transportation system, and the viability of the U.S. Merchant Marine.  
“The diverse and inclusive perspectives of these leaders will truly make a difference in the maritime industry,” said Maritime Administrator Ann Phillips. “We look forward to the energy they will bring to help tackle the urgent challenges business, labor, and federal and state governments face addressing bottlenecks at ports and speeding the movement of people and goods.” 
Members of MTSNAC are nominated through a full and open process published in the Federal Register. The final two members will be appointed at a later date. 

The new members are: 
1.    Mr. Russell Adise, U.S. Department of Commerce 
2.    Ms. Aimee Andres Inland Rivers, Ports and Terminals, Inc. 
3.    Ms. Cheryl Ball, Missouri Department of Transportation 
4.    Ms. Lauren Beagen, Roger Williams University 
5.    Ms. Lisa Burley, U.S. Customs and Border Protection 
6.    Mr. David Cicalese, International Longshoremen’s Association 
7.    Mr. Brian Clark, North Carolina Ports Authority 
8.    Mr. Mario Cordero, Port of Long Beach 
9.    Mr. James Dillman, Gateway Terminal 
10.    Ms. Berit Eriksson, Sailors’ Union of the Pacific 
11.    Mr. Roger Guenther, Port Houston 
12.    Mr. Craig Johnson, Flagship Management, LLC 
13.    Mr. Brian Jones, Nucor Corporation 
14.    Mr. David Libatique, Port of Los Angeles 
15.    Mr. Mike Moltzen, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
16.    Ms. Pat Mutschler, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
17.    Mr. Stephen Spoljaric, Bechtel 
18.    Mr. Erik Stromberg Lamar University, Center for Port Management 
19.    Ms. Shelly Sugarman, U.S. Coast Guard 
20.    Mr. Jack Sullivan, Matson Navigation, Inc. 
21.    Mr. Augustine Tellez, Seafarers International Union of North America 
22.    Mr. Adam Tindall-Schlicht, Port of Milwaukee 
23.    Ms. Penny Traina, Columbiana County Port Authority 
24.    Mr. Tom Wetherald, Global Dynamics – NASSCO 
25.    Mr. Robert Wellner, Liberty Global Logistics, LLC 
Robert Wellner and David Libatique will serve as Chair and Vice-Chair respectively. 

Unlock Exclusive Insights Today!

Join the gCaptain Club for curated content, insider opinions, and vibrant community discussions.

Sign Up
Back to Main
polygon icon polygon icon

Why Join the gCaptain Club?

Access exclusive insights, engage in vibrant discussions, and gain perspectives from our CEO.

Sign Up


Maritime and offshore news trusted by our 106,896 members delivered daily straight to your inbox.

gCaptain’s full coverage of the maritime shipping industry, including containerships, tankers, dry bulk, LNG, breakbulk and more.