IMO announces candidates for next Secretary-General

Total Views: 0
April 1, 2011

The International Maritime Organization says that six candidates had been nominated by their Governments for Secretary-General of the IMO by the March 31, 2011 deadline.

The election for the post will be held at the 106th session of the 40-Member strong IMO Council, which meets from June 27 to July, 1 2011.  The decision of the Council will be submitted to the IMO Assembly, which meets for its 27th session from November 21-30, for its approval.

The nominations include Mr. Lee Sik Chai of the Republic of Korea, Mr. Andreas Chrysostomou of the Republic of Cyprus, Mr. Neil Frank Ferrer of the Republic of the Philippines, Mr. Jeffrey Lantz of the United States, Mr. Esteban Pacha Vicente of the Kingdom of Spain, and Mr. Koji Sekimizu of Japan.

The present incumbent, Mr. Efthimios E. Mitropoulos, ends his second four-year term as Secretary-General on December 31, 2011.

Pictured: Mr. Efthimios Mitropoulos of Greece is the seventh Secretary-General of the International Maritime Organization, the United Nations agency concerned with maritime safety and security and the prevention of marine pollution from ships courtesy IMO.


Back to Main