Captain Landry Wins Shipmaster of the Year Award 2010

Mike Schuler
Total Views: 52
September 30, 2010

Here at, we are VERY happy to learn that Captain Alwin Landry has won the Lloyd’s List’s coveted Shipmaster of the Year Award 2010.  As some of you may know, we submitted Captain Landry as our nomination for the award after learning about his heroism and leadership on the night of the Deepwater Horizon tragedy.  Captain Landry was master of the Tidewater vessel, Damon Bankston, which was tied up alongside the Deepwater Horizon when the rig exploded.  If it wasn’t for his quick thinking in directing SAR efforts, the incident could have been a lot worse.

Congratulations to Captain Alwin Landry!

And many thanks to the countless gCaptain members who petitioned Lloyds List to re-open the nomination process for Landry. This well deserved award would not have been possible without your help!


CLICK HERE to download a Tidewater Report based on narratives by Captain Landry and the rest of the crew of the Damon Bankston.

Keep reading for the press release announcing Captain Landry’s acceptance, and the results of the 2010 Lloyd’s List Awards.

LONDON, September 30, 2010 /PRNewswire/ —

The Best and Brightest in the Maritime Shipping Industry Were in Attendance to Witness the 2010 Lloyd’s List Awards Honouring Excellence in Shipping and to Witness Captain Alwin Landry Pick Up Shipmaster of the Year Award for his Life-Saving Action During the Deepwater Horizon Tragedy

The Deepwater Horizon catastrophe resulted in a stream of footage of environmental damage and justified concerns about when the oil flow would be stopped. However, that day ended particularly tragically for 11 families who lost loved ones in the explosion. But for a heroic and quick-thinking sea captain, the death toll might have been far, far higher.

Last night, Captain Alwin Landry of the ship Damon Bankston was honoured by Lloyd’s List – the world’s flagship news, data and information analysis source for the global maritime industry – at its annual Lloyd’s List Awards ceremony at London’s Dorchester Hotel. More than 500 senior executives attended the gala dinner for a glittering celebration of the best and brightest talents in maritime shipping.

The Damon Bankston was alongside the rig at the time of the explosion and subsequent inferno. The quick thinking and direct orders of her Master brought the ship to a safe distance off the rig where he continued to assist rescue operations, including deploying his fast rescue boat back to the rig. The training and trust of his crew plus the efforts of other ships in the vicinity ensured that all the rig’s people, apart from those directly caught in the blast, were rescued and evacuated to safety.

“The purpose of the Shipmaster of the Year Award is to recognise and value the ultimate responsibility of the Master for the safety of the ship, her crew and her cargo as well as the safety of life at sea generally,” says Tom Leander, Editor of Lloyd’s List.

“The Master of the Damon Bankston is deserving of the respect and admiration of his fellow mariners for his professionalism, courage and leadership and in honouring Captain Landry we acknowledge the bravery and professional work of his crew,” continues Leander.

A total of 14 companies, organisations and individuals were presented with awards in categories which paid tribute to innovation, courage, corporate responsibility, business and seafaring skill and lifetime achievement.

“At Lloyd’s List, we wouldn’t have been here for 276 years unless we respected the best in the industry,” says Tom Leander, Editor of Lloyd’s List. “We take pride in rewarding this industry’s strong character. This strength of character – in companies and individuals throughout our industry – has helped us weather the economic crisis and will continue to serve maritime shipping well. We are delighted and proud to honour that quality.”

Other highlights of the evening were the presentation of the lifetime achievement award for Dr Martin Stopford of Clarkson Research Services; the award for Newsmaker of the Year which went to Eivind Kolding, Chief Executive, Maersk Line; and an award for Gregorio Oca, President of the Associated Marine Officers and Seamen’s Union of the Philippines, who won the Seafarer of the Year Award which was introduced this year in honour of the Year of the Seafarer.

“The object of the Seafarer of the Year Award was to recognise an extraordinary individual that has, through the work of a lifetime, improved the lives of seafarers. In addition, we thought it appropriate that this person should be a seafarer, and one who has led an eventful life at sea,” says Leander. “Gregorio Oco certainly fits the bill.”

All 14 awards were chosen by an independent judging panel drawn from industry associations, academic institutions and private companies.

“We offer our most sincere thanks to all our entrants, sponsors and the attendees of last night’s event – and our hearty congratulations to each and every one of the 2010 Lloyd’s List Global Awards winners,” says Leander.


The Winners of the 2010 Lloyd’s List Awards

  • Port Operator Award (sponsored by TT Club) – Port of Antwerp
  • Classification Society Award – Lloyd’s Register
  • The Innovation Award (sponsored by DP World) – Hook Marine
  • Amver-Assisted Rescue at Sea Award (sponsored by Immarsat) – M/V Overseas Primar
  • Safety at Sea Award (sponsored by GNMTC) – Maersk Tankers and Nadiro
  • Corporate Social Responsibility Award (sponsored by APM Terminals) – Arab Shipbuilding and Repair Yard Company (ASRY)
  • Environmental Protection Award (sponsored by Rightship) – DP World, London Gateway
  • The Training Award (sponsored by Admiralty/UKHO) – NYK
  • Shipmaster of the Year Award – Captain Alwin Landry
  • Ship of the Year Award (sponsored by Drydocks World) – Oasis of the Seas from STX Finland Oy
  • Company of the Year Award – Sovcomflot
  • Newsmaker of the Year Award (sponsored by Lloyd’s List) – Eivind Kolding, Chief Executive, Maersk Line
  • Seafarer Award (sponsored by Lloyd’s Register) – Gregorio Oca, president of the Associated Marine Officers and Seamen’s Union of the Philippines
  • Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Lloyd’s List) – Dr Martin Stopford, Clarkson Research Services

[Source: Lloyd’s List, Image via VesselTracker]

About The Nautical Institute and Lloyd’s List The Shipmaster of the Year Award 2010

Now in its 9th year, this prestigious award will be presented to a shipmaster nominated by colleagues on board or by the company ashore or by others within the maritime industry. Previous recipients of the Award are Captain Arne Rinnen of the MV Tampa, Captain Ahmed Zubair MNI of the Maldive Islands, Commodore Ron Warwick FNI of the RMS Queen Mary 2, Captain Ken Owen MNI lately of NOL/APL, Captain Jan Iversen of CMA CGM, Captain Youvraj Kapoor of B+H Equimar, Singapore, Captain Alistair McFadyen of P&O Ferries, and Captain Richard Phillips of Maersk Line. Each had displayed exemplary professional conduct, in the year in question and usually throughout their respective careers.

[Via: The Nautical Institute]

Back to Main