Shipping Industry Recognizes Year’s Achievements at Lloyd’s List Awards – The Winners

Total Views: 22
September 23, 2011

Some of the biggest names in shipping met this week in London for the annual Lloyd’s List Awards, one of the industries most acclaimed events recognizing the years great achievements in shipping.

The focus of this years awards crossed many issues facing the maritime industry − safety, the environment, financing and innovation.

The awards are independently judged and designed to recognize excellence in the shipping industry and acknowledging the successes of top class performance.  The following are the winners from the “Global” category.  Winners from additional categories can be found HERE.

Port Operator Award
Winner: Krishnapatnam Port Company

Ship Operator Award
Winner: APL

Amver Assisted Rescue at Sea Award
Winner: Crystal Pioneer and Hokuetsu Delight. Rescue of 64 students from a Canadian sailing vessel

Safety Award
Winner: APM Terminals

Training Award
Highly Commended: Anglo-Eastern Maritime Training Centre
Winner: Magsaysay Maritime Corporation

Environment Award
Highly Comended: Tsavliris Salvage Group
Winners: Pacific Basin Shipping

Maritime Lawyer of the Year
Highly Commended: Norton Rose
Winner: Frank Dunne, Watson, Farley & Williams

Corporate Social Responsibility Award
Highly Commended: Maersk Line
Winner: DP World

Ship Financier Award
Winner: Standard Chartered Bank

Innovation Award
Highly Commended: Maersk Oil Trading − Flowmeter Project
Winner: DNV − Triality − Tanker Concept Project

Seafarer of the Year
Highly Commended: Captain Keith Pettit, Master of Maersk Beaufort, The Maersk Company
Winner: Captain Zhu Qianchun, Master of Port Pegasus, Pacific Basin Shipping

Company of the Year
Highly Commended: Costamare
Winner: CMA CGM

Newsmaker of the Year
Winner: Gerry Wang, Seaspan

Lifetime Achievement Award (Maritime Hall of Fame)
Winner: Jim Davis CBE K(DK)

Back to Main