Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A little confused concerning AB requirements

blcouch is offline gCaptain Crew
    Thanks

Default A little confused concerning AB requirements

As stated in a previous thread, I am a Master of Towing vessels for Rivers, Inland and Great Lakes. In my quest to go offshore, I found I need a MMD, and that my sea time qualifies me for AB Special. Besides the sea time, the application,and physical, do I need some sort of training? I enrolled in SeaSchool's Able Seaman, any level, any waters prep for USCG approved exam and practical Marlinspike. It does not include lifeboat written or practical, nor RFPNW. Wayne from SeaSchool St. Pete said I would need lifeboat on my MMD, but is this class I enrolled in necessary? I am new to all this, and Marlinspike(other than the knife) is new to me. Should I just find a Lifeboat class to take? Class starts Monday in Bayou La Batre, so timely info would help. Thanks guys.
    Share on Facebook

CaptAndrew is offline Old Salt
    Thanks

Default Re: A little confused concerning AB requirements

You will need Lifeboatman for any AB. If you are going offshore and will be working under STCW requirements you will also need the RFPNW with Assessments. The assessments need to be done whilst working on deck over a significant time period, 90 days I think. So you may have to go back on deck for while. The checklist shows the requirements.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Share on Facebook

Shellback is offline Top Contributer
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by CaptAndrew View Post
    You will need Lifeboatman for any AB. If you are going offshore and will be working under STCW requirements you will also need the RFPNW with Assessments. The assessments need to be done whilst working on deck over a significant time period, 90 days I think. So you may have to go back on deck for while. The checklist shows the requirements.
    For RFPNW, 6 months of sea going service.