Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Vane Brothers

mjohn1 is offline Just Browsing
    Thanks

Default Vane Brothers

Hey Guys:

Can anyone give me the rundown about Vane Brothers? I am a recent graduate of a Maritime College as a Third Mate and was looking into a few inshore companies particularly Vane Brothers. Before starting you as a Tug Mate I believe they make you a deckhand. What is the starting salary as a deckhand? Benefits? Work Schedule? Their seemed to be very limited as to what they were showing on their website.

Any other good companies inshore that are hiring I should look into?

Thanks!
    Share on Facebook

ForkandBlade is offline Old Salt
    Thanks

Default Re: Vane Brothers

Vane Brothers is a very employee friendly company, with average tug pay scales. I wouldn't classify them as an inshore company as they do coastal towing, bunkering, lightering and have some ATB's. Most of their boats work 2 weeks on and 2 weeks off, but there are other schedules. I have a lot of friends that work there and I have heard them complain about the cost of medical ( I don't know the figure). They had a newbuild program recently and chances of getting on a newer tug are good.
    Is there a reason you are looking to go into towing? I would think right now, the hot job is to get on an OSV and get DP certified, better pay, benefits and room for advancement into other areas of the maritime industry like drilling and such.
    Share on Facebook

Mullet Farm is offline gCaptain Crew
    Thanks

Deckhands in NY Harbor with little commercial experience can target $200 a day, 2 weeks on 2 off (expect to be asked to ride over occasionally to cover staffing gaps), health/dental/401(k) after 3 months.
    Share on Facebook

Tugted is online now Old Salt
    Thanks

You'll be working deck for a good bit & then you need to complete a TOAR. You need to crawl before you walk
    Share on Facebook

z-drive is online now Top Contributer
    Thanks