Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Super heater blowout

VibrationTech is offline gCaptain Greenhorn
    Thanks

Default Super heater blowout

I am a Project Engineer for a vibration/infrared company and while on a recent Sea Trial the stbd boiler lost steam pressure due to a blown super heater tube. Thought I'd share a pic for anyone interested!

image-3750632034.jpg
    Share on Facebook

2. The Following User Says Thank You to VibrationTech For This Useful Post:

Sweat-n-Grease (February 7th, 2013)

Thanks

Default Re: Super heater blowout

I've seen a few of those over the years. Bet it made a hell of a racket when it blew.
    Share on Facebook

Fraqrat is offline Top Contributer
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,279 Times in 571 Posts

I've had to fix a few of these in my time as well. Last one I remember was the SS Diamond State. Happened on the morning the entire crew showed up to sign on for to do post shipyard sea trials. The contractor they hired to do the boiler work was also a licensed engineer. He took responsibility to bake it all night. Problem was his crew was behind schedule hanging all the doors and closing the boilers up. So he brought it a little sooner than it was ready for. Hell of a mess every tube on the lower nest exploded. Took out some of the generating and screen tubes and holed the mud drum in several places. All that was left in the vestibule was the lower pass stainless hanger bar with the j bolts still welded to it and it was mangled. The superplastic curtain in between the upper and lower tube banks was still intact.
    Share on Facebook

Sweat-n-Grease is offline Top Contributer
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,065 Times in 625 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by Too bad steam is gone View Post
    I've seen a few of those over the years. Bet it made a hell of a racket when it blew.

Sounds like a thousand Banshees.
    ~ the road goes on forever and the party never ends ~
    Share on Facebook

Thanks