Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Chouest exhaust

  1. #1
    coldduck's Avatar
    coldduck is offline Old Salt
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mobile AL
    Posts
    354
    Thanks
    755
    Thanked 170 Times in 103 Posts

    Default Chouest exhaust

    We've been doing a lot of standing-by in Fourchon lately, and I've noticed that the newer 2280's seem to black smoke way more than the older vessels. What's causing this; different mains, filters, fuel, injectors? I work in the wheelhouse so this definitely is not my territory, just curious.

  2. #2
    brjones's Avatar
    brjones is online now Top Contributer
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    WA
    Posts
    651
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 276 Times in 147 Posts

    Default Re: Chouest exhaust

    I am not familiar with the actual engines you are using, but black smoke is an indication of incomplete combustion. There are numerous things that can cause it. Timing, injectors, turbocharger...just to name a few. You either have too much fuel or not enough air on your air/ fuel mixture

  3. #3
    Fraqrat's Avatar
    Fraqrat is offline Top Contributer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,922
    Thanks
    1,994
    Thanked 1,831 Times in 801 Posts

    Default

    I believe they are equipped with Cat C-280-8 engines. They may need to have the guy come down with his laptop and make some adjustments.

  4. #4
    injunear is online now Top Contributer
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Matagorda Bay
    Posts
    1,228
    Thanks
    569
    Thanked 498 Times in 297 Posts

    Default Re: Chouest exhaust

    I'd bet on too much time at idle...

  5. #5
    Fraqrat's Avatar
    Fraqrat is offline Top Contributer
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,922
    Thanks
    1,994
    Thanked 1,831 Times in 801 Posts

    Default

    We have the same engines and in the winter time of we have to run wx patterns that's what happens to us. It usually blows right out and clears up after they've been at full rev for a few minutes. With all these fancy electronicals on these engines nowadays sometimes you gotta tweak the magic box.

  6. #6
    BMCSRetired's Avatar
    BMCSRetired is offline Top Contributer
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Panama City Beach, FL
    Posts
    606
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 316 Times in 162 Posts

    Default Re: Chouest exhaust

    I would bet a diesel Electric drive-train with the GENSETS running high end most of the time with no load instead of of setting them low and having them rev up automatically when needed. That was one of the drawbacks of diesel-electrics when I ran one, if you run them high end/no load the stacks tend to load up and catch on fire at annoying times like going from idle to full power too quickly. Another problem is running them low idle and when needing more power quickly, bogging the engine down or tripping the electric motor offline which is no fun either.

    I figured by now the computers would have caught up and eliminated these two issues...

  7. #7
    Low_Tide is offline Just Browsing
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Chouest exhaust

    Quote Originally Posted by BMCSRetired View Post
    I would bet a diesel Electric drive-train with the GENSETS running high end most of the time with no load instead of of setting them low and having them rev up automatically when needed. That was one of the drawbacks of diesel-electrics when I ran one, if you run them high end/no load the stacks tend to load up and catch on fire at annoying times like going from idle to full power too quickly. Another problem is running them low idle and when needing more power quickly, bogging the engine down or tripping the electric motor offline which is no fun either.I figured by now the computers would have caught up and eliminated these two issues...
    With respect, I'm not sure I follow. If it is diesel electric, it doesn't matter is there is a load or no load it needs to run at a constant RPM to keep the phase in line. Idle is fine if it's not tied to the bus.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Join us
Privacy Policy 2015 Unofficial Networks LLC

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1